Roam Mobility Review – Connected South of 49

Roam Mobility Review - Connected South of 49 16

— CONTEST CLOSED!—

Big congrats to Emma Lane! Enjoy your Roam Mobility prize package!

Thanks to all that entered. Be sure to Like This Life in Trips on Facebook  and sign up for my newsletter as I have a few more giveaways planned!


Roam Mobility SIM Review – Connected South of 49

With my recent month long+ trip through the States I had the opportunity to test out Roam Mobility, a USA and Mexico SIM card provider based out of Richmond BC. With the need for reliable and affordable data connection I was more than happy to take this on. For 39 days that took me from French Lick Indiana to Key West to NYC I put Roam Mobility to the test. Here is what I found:

Roam Mobility is Easy to Use

From setup to activation, Roam Mobility is a breeze to use. To start you select a plan of talk/text and/or data through their website. Plans range from $1.95 to $3.95 a day with discounts kicking in after 14 days for talk/text and data. There is also a range of data only plans to choose from which cover wide range of needs.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.40.48 AM
Roam Mobility Text+Data, Talk+Text, and the kitchen sink options
Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.40.05 AM
If Data is your thing, Roam Mobility has you covered.

Once selected a SIM card is sent to you for your unlocked cell phone. From there it is a matter of popping it in and activating it online by entering the cards unique identification number.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.50.04 AM

Roam Mobility is Fast

Although most plans cap your speed at a certain point, I never found speed to be an issue. In 39 days I burned through 3 gigs of data and if any of that was throttled I didn’t notice.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.43.42 AM
Roam Mobility speed disclaimer

Roam Mobility is Convenient

Being able to pop something in and have it work without a fuss is always a beautiful thing. Furthermore, Roam Mobility SIM cards are valid for 365 days after your usage is up meaning you can log in to your account and add more data should you return to the states during that time. Nice touch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Data is always my first concern when roaming as I need it to tweet, post, and share photos on Instagram. I have never really worried myself with having an actual phone number but I must say it came in handy several times during my trip. Whether it was to call a hotel, secure my Super Bowl tickets or send a text when my data coverage was not available, Roam Mobility talk and text came through.

Minor Issues while using Roam Mobility 

Roam Mobility was not without its faults during my trip. Although my experience was mainly positive, here are a few negatives to consider:

Spotty Coverage in the Sticks

One big thing I noticed while using Roam Mobility was poor coverage in rural areas. This of course is not directly Roam Mobility‘s fault as it is not their network but whoever they partner with in the states. I found along highways and in small towns signal strength rarely moved above 1 bar and speeds rarely faster than 3G. This never really posed a problem for me as the coverage and speed I had still allowed me to do what I needed to do, just an observation.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 11.54.09 AM

Minor Annoyances while using Roam Mobility 

Again, not directly Roam Mobility’s fault as it is not their network but the second I popped my SIM card in I started receiving unwanted texts and phone calls. At first I thought it was just spam but quickly realized the number used to belong to one Belinda who clearly had some debt issues. Voicemails about loan payments and text messages on loan pre-approvals poured in day and night. On the positive I contacted Roam Mobility about the issue and they were very quick to reply saying the number is randomly taken from a pool and could happen to any company. Although there was nothing they could do about the current number Roam Mobility did offer to change my number – or I could have done myself.

Every customer also has one chance to change their number/request a local number from any US ZIP available to you in the My Devices section of your account.

A nice gesture and great service however I decided to bare it. I coped by setting up the voicemail and turning on do not disturb for the evenings.

Again, not an a major issue, just an observation.

Final Thoughts on Roam Mobility

Although I was berated with unwanted phone calls and text messages, I couldn’t fault Roam Mobility with this. In the end the ability to stay connected throughout my 8 state, 5,000 km+ journey outweighed any unwanted call. With Roam Mobility’s ease of use and convenience I would gladly use again and recommend.


Speaking of Recommending Roam Mobility

Giveaway time! Here is your chance to win an awesome prize back of Roam Mobility services. To be exact:

1x Roam SIM Card
1x 7-day Talk+Text+Data Plan
1x Roam Mobility SIM Card Holder
1x Whoosh! Screen Shine Screen Cleaner
Total Value: $50.00

TO ENTER:

  1. Comment below or on my Facebook page with how much data I burned through while taking Roam Mobility for a test run (HINT 3 GIGs) 
  2. Follow Roam Mobility Inc on Twitter!

Winner will be randomly selected and will be announced on the April recap edition of This Life in Trips Newsletter (comes out early May!) as well as through Roam Mobility Inc’s and This Life in Trips Facebook and Twitter channels.

Disclaimer: VALID FOR CANAIDIAN RECIDENCES ONLY. SORRY!


 Roam Mobility on Facebook
 Roam Mobility on Twitter 

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 9.31.53 PM

Although I was provided a complimentary SIM card from Roam Mobility,
the experience, opinions, and speedy connections are my own.


More from Shaun Robertson

What to do with 8 hours in Rome

What to do with 8 hours in Rome As mentioned in my...
Read More
  • Joanne Bryan

    Looks interesting! I’m assuming you need an unlocked phone to use this? I’m still tied to a contract for a year!

    • Hi Joanne. Most providers will unlock your phone for $50 after so many months. Contact your provider. It is worth the money if you travel south often.

  • Alan Wood

    Sounds like an awesome service, a two minute phone call and a couple texts from vegas just cost me an extra $15 bucks on my phone bill. Give me Roam or give me death!

    • Brutal. Hopefully our laws change soon. Until then, enter this contest!

  • Alex Brady

    That’s a way better deal than what other cell phone providers offer. Gonna definitely look into this for my next few trips south of the boarder!!

    • Cheers Alex! They have a good promo on now. Check the link through my site!

  • Chad Thompson

    So tired of roaming charges from Canada’s providers. I get cheap SIM cards in Asia at 711 and works great. Why can’t North America get on board with this?

    • Couldn’t agree more Chad. Until then enter this contest!

  • Sally Lee

    Pick me! I go shopping in Washington all the time!

  • Sally Lee

    Oh and 3 gigs!

  • Jodie Waack

    I have also had a great experience using Roam in Vegas and Maui and would not hesitate to recommend this service. You used 3 GB

  • Rachel

    3 gb!

  • Andrew Swift

    Hi there! You burned 3 GIGs Data on your test run of Roam Mobility! Sound like something we all could use!

  • Janice

    3 gigs holy moly!

  • Young

    3 gigs!

  • disqus_TiF89YSMsu

    3 gigs . Thanks for the chance!

  • 3 Gigs – Thanks for the chance {and the hint!) Have a nice day 🙂

  • Janice

    3 gigs

  • Joe Cape

    I tried Roam Mobility for a trip in Cape Code. It is indeed simple to use, but coverage in my case was bad. I had basically no signal on the road from Montreal to Cape a Code, which was somewhat expected. But signal in the Cap was also very sporadic. When driving I would sporadically loose data signal, forcing me to revert to offline maps on my device. In some towns, there were simply no data signal at all (like at my cottage!), which was a real annoyance. The worst part is that their official coverage map claims 100% LTE signal everywhere in the Cape, which is why I bought their plan. I would recommend anyone planning to use Roam Mobility to find out first hand about coverage and not rely on their map. And know that they refuse refunding you when such problem occur.